Food Sovereignty Prize Awarded

The fourth annual Food Sovereignty Prize, awarded in New York City on October 10 by WhyHunger, honored the work of four grassroots organizations working for a more democratic food system. This year, prizes went to the Korean Women’s Peasant Association, the United Peasant Movement of Aguan Region, National Fisheries Solidarity Movement, and the Coalition of Immokalee Workers. Honorees were recognized for promoting food sovereignty by raising public awareness, organizing communities, implementing programs and policies, building global linkages, demonstrating the importance of collective action, and prioritizing the leadership of women, people of color, indigenous peoples, and migrant workers.

Learn more about the Food Sovereignty Prize.